Book Review: Larry's Kidney by Daniel Asa Rose

I really should start keeping track of just who referred me to a particular book.   It seems as though I am more or less constantly hearing about new titles,  whereupon I open a new tab, search Worldcat and place a request.   Sometime later I pick up the book at my local library and can almost never remember who it is I should extend thanks (and link love) to.    I’m pretty sure I would never have picked out Larry’s Kidney on my own,  and the hold slip I used for a bookmark while reading indicates I did place a request for this title.    So a sincerest Thank You to someone out there in my circle who turned me on to this one.

Daniel Asa Rose is a writer and editor who one day took a phone call from his “black sheep”  cousin Larry down in Florida,  who it develops is suffering from kidney failure and is planning a trip to China in hopes of getting an illegal transplant.   Which is how (as the sub-title explains) Rose “found himself in China with my black sheep cousin and his mail-order bride, skirting the law to get him a transplant and save his life.”   Rose is a wonderful writer who takes a pitch-perfect tone,  wry and sardonic, in this memoir of his trip to China, where remarkably a chance meeting at a synagogue in Bejing leads  Rose and his cousin Larry to a hospital in the city of Shi,  where Larry does indeed get a kidney transplant that saves his life.     It was very interesting to me to read about every day life in China and to learn a bit more about organ transplants and the world of medical tourism.    If you enjoy wry and witty memoirs or have an interest in China, medical tourism or organ transplantation  Larry’s Kidney is Recommended.

Buy Now $17.15 from Amazon

