The answer is NOT 42!

Because the question is NOT “what is the meaning of life, the universe and everything?”    The answer is 69 and the question is “how many books are shown in this photograph of my to-be-read pile?”   While I was extremely pleased at all the entries we received,  I am very sorry to announce that none of the entries guessed the correct answer.   And so the contest ends with no winner and I still have all these advanced reading and review copies taking up space on my over-crowded bookshelf.  I suppose I could simply announce a new contest and try again but frankly I haven’t the heart for it at the moment.

Here’s what I’ve decided to do instead.  IF you publish a book review web site and would like one of the books listed below for review consideration,  I will be happy to give away ALL of my advanced reading and review copies.  BUT the recipient will have to pay $6.00 for shipping and handling.   Please realize I am not making any money on this six dollars.  After Paypal deducts their fee and I transfer the money to my local bank and go in and withdraw the cash and take the book(s) to the post office and send them via priority mail I will receive very little if any compensation for my time.   So if you would like for me to send you a book below,  please leave a comment on this post stating which book you would like to receive.   On August 31st I will e-mail everyone who has requested a book and provide them with my PayPal e-mail addy.   Each person requesting a book will then have two weeks to send the money to me via PayPal and provide me with their snail mail shipping address.   On or around September 15, I will mail all of the packages from Lakewood, Washington via USPS Priority Mail.   All books should be received by September 20,2009.   The titles available are:

The Dead Man by Joel Goldman
–released mass market paperback

Afraid by Jack Kilborn
–advanced reading copy, paperback

Horse Soldiers bt Doug Stanton
–released hard cover
–realeased CD audio book

Fault Line by Barry Eisler
–released hard cover

Home Girl by Judith Matloff
–released hard cover

Annie’s Ghosts by Steve Luxenberg
–released hard cover

The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly
–advanced reading copy, trade paper format

Dirt An American Campaign by Mark LaFlamme
–released trade paper back

The Islamist by Ed Husain
–released trade paper back

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
–released hardcover

In The Country of Brooklyn by Peter Golenbock
–advanced reading copy, trade paper back format

These books are being offered on first come, first served basis so be sure to check any comments above your own to be sure the title has not already been requested by someone else.   Be sure to leave the URL for your books blog and a valid e-mail address in your comment so that I will be able to contact you.   Limit one book per person or website or delivery address.   Here’s wishing you a pleasant and happy last month of summer.   We will return with another book review soon.

