Quiet, Please Dispatches from a Public Librarian

Part of me feels guilty for posting about a second memoir by a second Los Angeles area librarian within less than three months, but Quiet Please   Dispatches from a Public Librarian was just barely too good to pass up.  Scott Douglas’ memoir of his career with the Anaheim library lacks some of the pizazz of Don Borchert’s Free For All  (reviewed here)  but the crisp writing and the creatively Dewey-numbered chapters go a long way with me, though to be perfectly honest at times I found this young man’s outlook and worldview a bit appalling.  

 At times Douglas comes across as the near-ideal librarian, deeply committed to intellectual freedom and public service.   At other times he comes across as a burn out who just doesn’t care anymore.    I found it interesting that Douglas just drifted into the career after being hired as page while an undergrad and then receiving free tuition to library school upon graduation.   Mostly,  I just enjoyed reading about life in a library that seems a great deal more hectic and demanding than the one I work for.   This one is Recommended only to other library staff.   I think it somewhat lacks general interest.

