Short Take: Jesus Rode A Donkey

Normally I resist the urge to simply blurb a book I am not going to read, but sometimes a title is so striking that I think you’d want to know about it, even though I’m not going to read and review it.    Linda Seger is a thelogian who argues that by his teachings, Jesus showed himself to be a liberal and that Democratic principles and priorities reflect Jesus’ teachings.   She says that being a Christian and a Democrat isn’t just possible, but that one follows the other.     Without reading book, I find that I accept her arguments,  though I don’t really know how helpful it is to make them in this clearly provocative format.   I feel as though I should close by wittily tying in this title to the Christmas season, but I can’t think of a single witty interpretation for this version of the Christmas message.

